Northern Dandenongs Historical and Heritage Tour

The Northern Dandenongs Heritage Tour covers the towns of Kalorama, Mount Dandenong, Olinda, Kallista, Sherbrooke and Monbulk.
Northern Dandenongs Heritage Tour Map

1. Five Ways, Kalorama
Address: Intersection Mt Dandenong Tourist Rd, Barbers Rd, Ridge Rd, Old Coach Rd, Kalorama
The scenic lookout, the site of a former garage, looks out over Harmony Vale, an area settled in the 1860s by the Jeeves, Child and Richardson families. The twin elms in the centre traffic island mark the entrance to the Jeeves homestead; in the valley below, its remaining chimney has been incorporated into a pavilion with historic information panels (entrance from Barbers Road). The cafe was originally Beulah tearooms, the yoga centre a Methodist church and the gallery the post office/general store.
2. Kyeema Crash Site
Address: Kyeema Memorial, off Osprey Rd, Mt Dandenong

3. William Ricketts Sanctuary
Address: 1396 Mt Dandenong Tourist Rd, Mt Dandenong

4. Olinda Heritage Walk
Address: Olinda-Monbulk Rd, Olinda
The Heritage Walk provides a lasting record of the beginnings and development of the Olinda Township. Thirteen pre-1915 sites, including the Olinda Mechanics Institute Hall, have been identified with plaques placed in close proximity to the original sites.
6. Ferny Creek Monument Corner
Address: Southern corner of intersection of Mt Dandenong Tourist and Sherbrooke Roads, Ferny Creek
The Monument was erected in memory of those from the district who served in WWI. The memorial, a stone shelter with a memorial plaque, served as an index to the chestnut trees on Anzac Avenue and the men they commemorated. Unfortunately few of the memorial trees remain. The dedication and unveiling service of this memorial, erected by local returned servicemen, took place in May 1939.
7. Alfred Nicholas Memorial Garden
Address: Sherbrooke Rd, Sherbrooke

Formerly part of the adjacent Burnham Beeches Estate, the approximately 13 ha gardens are now in the care of Parks Victoria. Serene walkways wind amongst a spectacular array of plant species including azaleas, rhododendrons, beech trees, ginkgo trees and the majestic mountain ash. Landscaped in the 1930s, the gardens are enhanced with rockeries and retaining walls, ponds, bridges and waterfalls, the main water feature being the distinctive ornamental lake with boathouse.
8. Burnham Beeches
Address: 1 Sherbrooke Rd, Sherbrooke
Burnham Beeches is an iconic Art Moderne mansion designed by Harry Norris for the wealthy Aspro king Alfred Nicholas. The estate contains extensive established gardens and a rolling rural landscape totalling 22.72 ha. The original mansion was built in 1933 and has two newer buildings (1980s) adjoining it. It is not open to the public. Sitting vacant for the last 39 years, there now will be a holistic restoration of Burnham Beeches over a number of years.
9. Kallista Tea Rooms
Address: 103 Monbulk Rd, Kallista
Designed by Melbourne architect Frederick Romberg (1913-1992) and completed in 1950, the heritage-listed Tea Rooms is noted for its iconic curved window, which wraps around the northern end of the building, and modern style flat roof.
10. Sherbrooke Art Society
Address: 62 Monbulk Rd, Belgrave

Established in 1966, the Sherbrooke Art Society is located in the former 'Red Mill'. Amongst the Society's many arts-related activities is the highly regarded Annual Streeton-Roberts Competition Award.
11. Monbulk Main Street
Visit Monbulk's main street and follow a path through our history. A board located next to the pedestrian crossing shows where to find symbols embedded in the footpath, each telling a different story about Monbulk's past history.
Monbulk was an important meeting and healing place for local Wurundjeri people before European settlers arrived. The township was first established in 1893 as the 'Dandenong Forest Village Settlement' where timber, gold and farming drew settlers to the area. Booklets outlining Monbulk's history are
available at Monbulk & District Community Bendigo Bank and Monbulk Living &
Learning Centre.
12. Johns Hill Reserve
Address: 84A Ridge Rd, Kallista
Johns Hill Reserve is named after a Welsh settler, John Johns, who purchased land on the ridge above Menzies Creek in 1878. The Reserve has almost all-round views over the Yarra Valley and the Silvan and Cardinia Reservoirs. There is interpretive signage at the site.





