Olinda Heritage Walk



The Olinda Heritage Walk provides a lasting record of the beginnings and development of the Olinda Township. Thirteen pre-1915 sites, including the Olinda Mechanics Institute Hall, have been identified with plaques placed in close proximity to the original sites.

The Olinda Heritage Walk gives a snapshot of Village life in the Dandenong Ranges during the early 1900's - a time of hard work, great initiative and relative prosperity

The walk is on paved paths and is accessible to wheelchairs and prams. It takes roughly an hour to leisurely walk it, longer if you decide to browse the shops.

Olinda Heritage Walk Map


Olinda Heritage Walk

1. OLINDA FOOTBALL SPORTS GROUND 1914

2. MECHANICS' INSTITUTE HAIL 1913

3. OLINDA STATE SCHOOL No. 3494

4. THE MISSION HALL

5. FRANK HODGE - BIACKSMITH THE CENTRAL STORE

6. DODD'S GENERAL STORE c1910

7. MONASIH AVENUE

8. ST MATTHEW'S CHURCH OF ENGLAND

9. ST MATTHEW'S CHURCH HAIL (MERNDA METHODIST CHURCH)

10. THE WINE HAIL OLINDA POST OFFICE

11. EASTERN SLOPE of MOUNT OLINDA

12. PETER WITT, BLACKSMITH

13. QUAMBY TEA ROOMS

Guest House Era


Bella Vista Guest House was built by Edmund Boulter in 1903. While it was not the first guest house in Olinda, it was certainly the most magnificent. Able to accommodate 80 guests, it comprised two large buildings with a walkway linking the balconies at second storey level. Views of Westernport and Port Phillip Bays could be seen from the rooftop lookout. The interior featured a ballroom while outdoors there were extensive sporting facilities. Renamed Hayden Park and still accommodating guests, the building was destroyed by fire in 1956.

Charlemont Guest House, which features clearly in many early photos of Olinda Township, was originally built c1895 as a private home by W.B. Parsons. Charlemont became a guest house c1905 and consisted of two separate buildings that were joined together. Despite its apparent size, Charlemont only accommodated about 8 guests. Charlemont burned down in 1923 with guests being relocated to Bella Vista.

History of the Olinda Settlement


Timber cutter George Holden with his sons Mark and Luke had been making a living felling great tracts of forest trees in and around the area of present day Olinda. At some time around 1855 they set up camp on the site of the current township, the locality becoming known as Holden's Hut.

In 1858 Running Creek was renamed Olinda Creek after Alice Olinda Hodgkinson, the daughter of Victoria's Acting Surveyor General, Clement Hodgkinson. It is from Olinda Creek that the township took its name. In the early 1870's the first settlement of the district took place with settlers taking up allotments of about 100 acres, generally along the western face. In 1893, the Settlement Lands Act opened up 10 acre lots for settlement. The township of Olinda had its beginnings in 1895, when the first lots in the Olinda Township Reserve were offered for auction. Although only five lots sold at the initial auction the township grew and became the heart of the area. In a short space of time the Olinda Township housed businesses such as a general store, blacksmith, butcher, baker, bank as part of post office service, telephone service and wine hall. Coach services to the township, first horse and buggy then motorised, provided transport for both locals and visitors. A school, churches, Mechanics' Institute Hall and sports ground were established to service the growing community.

By 1910 large tracts of land had been cleared for horticulture including berry farms, orchards and vegetable crops. Guest houses started up, the first in 1896, to house visitors to the area seeking the fresh mountain air and glorious views. Tourism became a major source of income for the area and soon there were many guest houses, several of them magnificent structures, dotted around the landscape.

World War I saw many local men signing up to serve their country and the injuries, loss of life and disruption to families during and after the war had an adverse impact on community life. Settlers working the land were greatly reduced in number and flower nurseries and small dairy herds to supply guest houses replaced the unproductive berry fans and orchards. Abandoned settler blocks were purchased by Melburnians seeking holiday homes with forest feel and a panoramic view.



Location


29 Olinda-Monbulk Road,  Olinda 3788 View Map



Olinda Heritage Walk29 Olinda-Monbulk Road,, Olinda, Victoria, 3788