Camperdown - Wombeetch Puyuun Memorial

The Wombeetch Puyuun Grave Monument is an imposing grey granite obelisk occupying a prominent central position within Camperdown Public Cemetery. It commemorates Wombeetch Puyuun and the devastating impact of European colonisation on the Aboriginal people of the Camperdown district.
Wombeetch Puyuun, also known to European settlers as Camperdown George, was a member of the Liwura Gundidj clan of the Djargurd Wurrung people. When he died in 1883, he was the last member of his clan still living on Country around Camperdown.
Wombeetch Puyuun was initially buried in an unmarked grave in a poorly drained area outside the main cemetery. His friend James Dawson returned from Scotland and was distressed to discover what had occurred. Dawson sought contributions from local settlers for a suitable memorial but, after receiving little support, largely funded the monument himself.
The monument was erected in 1885 and Wombeetch Puyuun’s remains were reburied at its base.
Features of the monument include:
- The year 1840, representing the beginning of the displacement and decline of local Aboriginal communities following European settlement
- Engravings of a boomerang, club and message stick
- The year 1883, marking the death of Wombeetch Puyuun
- A gilded inscription commemorating Wombeetch Puyuun and the Aboriginal people of the district
This memorial should not be confused with the separate Wombeetch Puyuun Reconciliation Park in Walker Street, Camperdown.
Access:
The monument is located within the central area of Camperdown Public Cemetery. Visitors should be respectful of graves and cemetery activities. Paths and grassy areas may be uneven.
Opening Hours:
The cemetery is open to visitors. Observe any entrance signs, locked gates or temporary access restrictions.
Location
Camperdown Public Cemetery, Cemetery Road, Camperdown 3260 View Map
Web Links
→ camperdownhistory.org.au/wombeetch-puyuun-monument
→ vhd.heritagecouncil.vic.gov.au/places/208508




